Occupied: Headlines From Palestine

Blogging From Gaza, Palestine

Israeli Occupation Issues Administrative Detention Orders To 26 Palestinian Detainees

Leave a comment

RAMALLAH, February 22, 2015 (WAFA) – The Palestinian Prisoner’s Club (PPC) Sunday said that the Israeli authorities issued administrative detention orders against 26 Palestinian prisoners.

PPC, in a statement, said that 24 prisoners had their administrative detention renewed for the third and fourth times, including some who have served years under administrative detention, for either continuous or interval periods.

The remaining two received new detention orders without charge or trial. The period of the detention varied between two to six months.

Administrative detention is a procedure that allows the Israeli military to hold prisoners indefinitely on secret information without charging them or allowing them to stand trial.

B’Tselem, the Israeli information center for human rights stressed that, “International law stipulates that it may be exercised only in very exceptional cases – and then only as a last possible resort, when there are no other means available to prevent the danger.”

In the case of Palestinian detainees, Israel routinely uses administrative detention against Palestinians. Statistics show that over the years, thousands of Palestinians have been held in Israeli custody as administrative detainees for extended periods of time.

Palestinian prisoners in Israeli jails announced Sunday their intentions to embark on a hunger strike on the 10th of March to protest the prison administrations’ violations of their rights and to get them to respond to their demands, including ending the administrative detention against them.

Following are the names of the 26 detainees who received administrative detention orders:

          Names of Prisoners                           City             Sentence Length
Adaib Mafarjeh Ramallah Six months
Sami Birawi Nablus Four months
Ismail Hlbyeh Abu Dis Four months
Tariq Khader Ramallah Four months
Ahmad Sultan Bireh/Ramallah Six months
Mustafa Nakhleh Ramallah Six months
Mohammed Samaneh Ramallah Six months
Abd al-Rahman Hindyeh Nablus Two months
Ismail Hawamdeh Hebron Four months
Salim Drdsawi Ramallah Two months
Abd al-Raziq Faraj Ramallah Four months
Khalil Hroob Hebron Three months
Mahmoud Arbad Ramallah Four months
Imad Jadallah Hebron Six months
Lo’ay Ghaith Hebron Six months
Said Hermas Bethlehem Four months
Naim Bashir Hebron Four months
Ali Kamil Jenin Four months
Ahmad abu Adi Ramallah Three months
Ra’ed Mtair Qalandia Six months
Mosa’ab Manasra Hebron Four months
Abdallah Abu Wier Jenin Four months
Mahmoud Atwan Bethlehem Three months
Ma’en Hmidat Hebron Four months
Anwar Harb Ramallah Two months
Ahmad Ash-shaikh Bethlehem Four months




Author: OccPalGaza

Blogging from Gaza-current events, news and actions against the Occupation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s