Occupied: Headlines From Palestine

Blogging From Gaza, Palestine

121 Palestinians Sentenced To Administrative Detention In Israeli Prisons Since Early March

Leave a comment

RAMALLAH, March 31, 2015 (WAFA) – Israeli authorities issued administrative detention orders against 121 Palestinian prisoners since the beginning of March, including new orders issued Tuesday against 40 prisoners, said the Palestinian Prisoner’s Club (PPC) on Tuesday.

PPC, in a press release, said that 12 prisoners received new detention orders without charge or trial, while the remaining 28 prisoners had their sentences renewed for the third and fourth times, including some who have served years under administrative detention.

Administrative detention is a procedure that allows the Israeli military to hold prisoners indefinitely on secret information without charging them or allowing them to stand trial.

Palestinian detainees have continuously resorted to open-ended hunger strikes as a way to protest their illegal administrative detention and to demand an end to this policy which violates international law.

B’Tselem, the Israeli information center for human rights stressed that, “International law stipulates that it may be exercised only in very exceptional cases – and then only as a last possible resort, when there are no other means available to prevent the danger.”

In the case of Palestinian detainees, Israel routinely uses administrative detention against Palestinians. Statistics show that over the years, thousands of Palestinians have been held in Israeli custody as administrative detainees for extended periods of time.

Following are the names of the 40 detainees who received administrative detention orders:

Lo’ay Masalmeh Hebron Six months
Yousif Hosheh Ramallah Six months
Ghassan Jaber Hebron Six months
Yousif Laham Bethlehem Six months
Mohammed Omar Hebron Six months
Abd al-Rahman Mohammed Qalandia Refugee Camp Six months
Hazem Himoni Hebron Six months
Mohammed Atta Ramallah Six months
Walid Mzyyin Hebron Six months
Rashad Krajeh Ramallah Six months
Monir Manasra Hebron Six months
Hani Mafargeh Ramallah Six months
Iyad Salmi Qalqilia Six months
Zaid Abu Fnar Hebron Four months
Ghassan Abu Adi Ramallah Four months
Ibrahim Abu Srour Bethlehem Four months
Shadi Abu Akr Bethlehem Four months
Nabil Masalmeh Hebron Four months
Joma’a al-Jojo Bethlehem Four months
Nader Taqatqa Bethlehem Four months
Mohammed Asi Ramallah Four months
Zaid Harbyat Bethlehem Four months
Ez Ed-din Tawfiq Nablus Four months
Ghassan Zawahreh Bethlehem Four months
Tariq Hussain Jenin Four months
Amir Yaish Nablus Four months
Sajed al-Loqta Hebron Four months
Khalil Zawahreh Bethlehem Four months
Fadi Masalmeh Bethlehem Four months
Abdallah Saqr Bethlehem Four months
Hashim Rjoub Hebron Four months
Ahmad Ikhlil Hebron Four months
Wa’el Hashash Nablus Three months
Yousif Ghalmi Nablus Three months
Zakrya Iwaidat Hebron Three months
Ayyob Khadoor Bido village Three months
Bassam Hammad Ramallah Three months
Mota’az Qawasmeh Hebron Three months
Smail Ilyyan Bethlehem Three months
Ahmad Rae’e Qalqilia Two months




Author: OccPalGaza

Blogging from Gaza-current events, news and actions against the Occupation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s