Occupied: Headlines From Palestine

Blogging From Gaza, Palestine

Israeli Occupation Issues Administrative Detention Orders To Imprison 20 Palestinians Wihout Trial

Leave a comment

RAMALLAH, April 8, 2015 (WAFA) – Israeli authorities issued administrative detention orders to 20 Palestinians, including member of the Palestinian Legislative Council Khalida Jarrar, Sunday reported the Palestinian Prisoner’s club (PPC).

Six of the prisoners received detention orders without charge or trial for the first time, whereas the rest had their sentences renewed for numerous times.

An Israeli court has sentenced member of the Palestinian Legislative Council Khalida Jarrar, of the People’s Front for the Liberation of Palestine (PFLP), to a six-month administrative detention, said PPC.

Administrative detention is the imprisonment of Palestinians without charge or trial and on the basis of secret evidence for up to six month periods, indefinitely renewable by Israeli military courts.

The use of administrative detention dates from the “emergency laws” of the British colonial era in Palestine, said the Palestinian Prisoner Solidarity Network.

It stated, “Israel’s use of administrative detention violates international law; such detention is allowed only in individual circumstances that are exceptionally compelling for “imperative reasons of security.”

Israel uses administrative detention routinely as a form of collective punishment and mass detention of Palestinians, and frequently uses administrative detention when it fails to obtain confessions in interrogations of Palestinian detainees.

There are around 500 detainees serving administrative detention in several Israeli jails. Jarrar is not the only lawmaker to be imprisoned; 18 of the Palestinian Legislative Council members are currently held in Israeli detention without charge or trial.

Palestinian detainees have continuously resorted to open-ended hunger strikes as a way to protest their illegal administrative detention and to demand an end to this policy which violates international law.

Following are the names of the 20 detainees who received administrative detention orders:

  Names of prisoners             City     Sentence length
Abd al-Rahman Hammad Jerusalem Six months
Ez Ad-din Sirfi Nablus Four months
Osama Shahin Hebron Four months
Omar Barghothi Ramallah Two months
Abd al-Hamid Najajreh Bethlehem Four months
Amin Eid Batat Hebron Three months
Ammar Elyyan Ramallah Four months
Ahmad Salih Al-Bireh Six months
Ishaq at-Taweel Hebron Four months
Mohammed Obaid Hebron Three months
Ghassan Thoqan Nablus Three months
Khalida Jarrar Ramallah Six months
Ayman Tbaish Hebron Three months
Tamer Qawasmeh Hebron Six months
Mohammed Abu Ghalyeh Jerusalem Five months
Raed Shirbati Hebron Four months
Asa’ad Imam Hebron Four months
Mohammed Ayyish Jerusalem Four months
Mustafa Shawar Hebron Two months
Ahmad al-Hraimi Bethlehem Four months




Author: OccPalGaza

Blogging from Gaza-current events, news and actions against the Occupation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s